As distracted driving remains a leading cause of motor vehicle accidents throughout the country, the Arkansas State Police urges motorists to put down their phones while driving. An article detailing their awareness and enforcement efforts is available here.
The Highway Safety Office—a division of the Arkansas State Police—has joined forces with other law-enforcement agencies across the state to encourage drivers to avoid the potentially deadly risks of distracted driving. Recently, law-enforcement agencies in Arkansas participated in the “U Drive, You Text, You Pay” campaign. The campaign combined educational and enforcement operations to raise awareness of the issue—and reduce the number of traffic crashes associated with cellphone use.
A Growing Concern
According to the U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), close to 20,000 people died in accidents involving distracted drivers between 2012 and 2017—including 3,166 people killed in 2017 alone. That same year, 8% of teens aged 15 to 19 killed in traffic accidents were reported to have been distracted at the time. NHTSA statistics also tell us younger drivers are most at-risk. During 2017, 8% of teens aged 15 to 19 killed in traffic accidents were reported to have been distracted at the time.
The dangerous nature of texting while driving has prompted the National Safety Council (NSC) to declare April as Distracted Driving Awareness Month. The NHTSA defines distracted driving as any activity which diverts a driver’s attention away from the road—including texting on a phone, manipulating other electronic devices, eating or drinking, or talking to other passengers.
Enforcement is Key
The state of Arkansas prohibits drivers from using a hand-held cell phone to text, type, send e-mail, or access the internet while in motion. Since the law defines distracted driving as a primary offense, law-enforcement officers can stop drivers without observing any other violation. Fines include $250 for a first offense—and can range up to $500 for subsequent violations.
We Can Help
If you or a loved one is seriously injured in a motor vehicle accident that wasn’t your fault, call Caddell Reynolds for help at 800-671-4100. When you call, you’ll speak with one of our top Arkansas car accident lawyers absolutely FREE.
At Caddell Reynolds, we will fight for the maximum compensation you deserve from the insurance companies. Our experienced Arkansas Motor Vehicle Accident Lawyers understand car accident claims—and can help you receive the full and fair compensation you deserve.
Caddell Reynolds Injury Law will be by your side every step of the way. Call us for your Free Legal Consultation at 800-671-4100 today. At Caddell Reynolds, there is never an attorney’s fee due up front. In fact, you owe us nothing until we recover for you. We have offices conveniently located throughout Arkansas to better serve you.
Caddell Reynolds. Make the right call!